User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive


2014 All-Federal League Football Team



After leading a remarkable turnaround this fall for the Perry High School football team, senior running back Braxton Berry was selected the Federal League Player of the Year.  Berry, who missed much of last season with an injury, returned to health this fall and was an impact player all season. He helped the Panthers go from 0-10 a year ago to 6-4 this past regular season, as they reached the Division I state playoffs for the first time since 2006. Perry’s season ended with a first-round loss to the state’s No. 1 team, Hudson. Berry was the workhorse for the Panthers’ powerful rushing attack, leading the Federal League in rushing. Berry ran for 1,479 yards on 242 carries during the regular season, scoring 16 touchdowns. He also added four receptions for 52 yards and a score. Overall, he had 1,544 yards this season and 2,920 in his career.

GlenOak’s Scott Garcia was the coach of the year after guiding the Golden Eagles to the outright league title. GlenOak went 8-3 overall, and 4-1 in league play. It was GlenOak’s first outright title since 2009 and the third overall under Garcia, who became the coach in 2007. GlenOak advanced to the Division I playoffs for the sixth time under Garcia and won a first-round road game. Four of the program’s five all-time playoff wins have come during his tenure.


2014 All-Federal League Football Team

First team

WR-DB Kyle Hall, GlenOak, sr.

RB-LB Jason Simon, GlenOak, sr.

TE-DL Spencer Zernechel, GlenOak, sr.

RB-DB J’mon Wells, GlenOak, sr.

QB-DB Brennon Tibbs, GlenOak, jr.

WR-DB Justin Robinson, GlenOak, sr.

FB-LB Fermin Olivera, GlenOak, sr.

RB-DB Braxton Berry, Perry, sr.

OL-DL Matt Carrick, Perry, soph.

TE-LB Marcus Brittain, Perry, sr.

RB-DB Keishaun Sims, Perry, jr.

RB-DB Anthony Cistone, Lake, sr.

WR-DB Chase Champagne, Lake, sr.

OL-DL Jake Godfrey, Lake, sr.

WR-DB Nick Bruner, Lake, sr.

RB-DB Eric Glover-Williams, McKinley, sr.

WR-DB Bryce Short, McKinley, sr.

OL-DL Andrew Reo, McKinley, sr.

WR-DB Sherron Jackson, McKinley, sr.

RB-DB Ricky Spradling, Jackson, sr.

OL-DL Mike Ross, Jackson, sr.

WR-DB Shane Ridgway, Jackson, sr.

RB-DB Dillon Dingler, Jackson, soph.

RB-LB Clay Haverfield, Hoover, sr.

RB-DB Kyle Braucher, Hoover, sr.

Player of the Year—Braxton Berry,

Perry Coach of the Year—Scott Garcia, GlenOak


Second team: OL-DL Casey Bergin, GlenOak, sr. RB-LB Max Hansen, GlenOak, sr. OL-LB Nick Thomas, GlenOak, sr. FB-LB Mike Dean, GlenOak, sr. OL-DL Adam Gregoire, Perry, jr. OL-LB Mason Wheeler, Perry, sr. RB-DL Logan Copeland, Perry, jr. WR-DB Aaron Maag, Perry, sr. TE-LB CJ Davis, Jackson, sr. WR-DB Jake Kempt, Jackson, sr. OL-DL Will Kanters, Jackson, sr. WR-LB Tyler Deagan, Jackson, sr. QB-DB Adam Dadich, Lake, sr. FB-LB Clay Shreve, Lake, jr. WR-LB Dalton Davis, Lake, sr. K-LB Quentin Anderson, Lake, sr. RB-LB Shawn Baker, Lake, jr. OL-DL Antonio Gillems, McKinley, sr. TE-LB Nick Faulkner, McKinley, sr. RB-LB Doak Walker, McKinley, sr. WR-DB Tymeon Ollison, McKinley, sr. OL-DL Alex Shaffer, Hoover, sr. OL-DE Ian Baker, Hoover, sr. FB-LB Jake Jajack, Hoover, sr. OL-DL Ben Kiesling, Hoover, jr.

Honorable mention: GlenOak—Malik Compton, jr.; Evan Maley, sr.; Austin Wayt, jr. Hoover—Zach Johnson, sr.; Jake Massolini, sr.; Dylan Albaugh, sr.; Vinnie Serapiglia, jr. Jackson—Noah Dehnke, sr.; Jake Pallotta, jr.; Alex Pearsall, jr.; Robert Beaver, sr.; Brandon O’Neill, sr. Lake—Mike Albertoni, sr.; Brennan Hemlick, sr.; Emery Butler, sr.; Jake Dillon, sr. Perry—Travis DeArment, sr.; Drew Waggoner, jr.; Tevion Cleveland, soph.; Evan Douglass, soph. McKinley—Reggie Corner, soph.; Shawndale Robinson, sr.; Tyler Biss, sr.; Brandon Wilson, sr.








th_readMoreButtonExtraInfo at the Friday Night Ohio